- Why No Official Pass Rate Exists
- What the Available Data Actually Shows
- Who Sits the Exam: Eligibility as a Filter
- Format Pressure: 140 Questions in a Closed-Book Room
- Where Candidates Gain and Lose Points
- Retake Rules and the Cost of a Miss
- How to Read Pass-Rate Claims From Training Providers
- A Domain-Weighted Preparation Schedule
- Frequently Asked Questions
- No SCT pass rate appears in the AMPP issuer sources retrieved for this article; any specific percentage you see is unverified.
- The exam has 140 questions in a 240-minute appointment, leaving a calculated 230 minutes after the NDA and tutorial.
- Cathodic Protection (24-28%) and Coatings (21-25%) together account for roughly half the exam.
- Exam fee is $385 for both initial attempts and retakes; the first retake requires a 30-day wait.
Why No Official Pass Rate Exists
Search for the Senior Corrosion Technologist (SCT) pass rate and you will find confident-sounding numbers in forum posts and training brochures. Here is the more useful fact: the Association for Materials Protection and Performance (AMPP), which administers the credential through written exam NACE-SCT-001, did not disclose an SCT pass rate in any issuer source retrieved for this article. The exam preparation guide, the General Examinee User Guide, the fee schedules, and the renewal guide are silent on it.
The silence goes further than the rate itself. The Examinee User Guide states that numerical passing scores are not published for the CBT program. If the cut score is not public, a pass rate cannot be meaningfully interpreted even when someone does quote one. A percentage means little without knowing the standard, the candidate pool, and the time window it covers.
What the Available Data Actually Shows
If there is no pass rate, what does the data say? Quite a lot about the structure of the exam, which is what actually drives outcomes. The table below separates what is documented from what is not.
| Item | Status | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Published pass rate | Not disclosed | No SCT figure in retrieved AMPP sources |
| Numerical passing score | Not published | Per the General Examinee User Guide (v2023.1) |
| Question count | Documented | 140 questions |
| Scored vs. unscored split | Unpublished | Not specified by the issuer |
| Appointment length | Documented | 240 minutes total; calculated 230 after NDA and tutorial |
| Delivery | Documented | Pearson VUE test center, in person, English |
| Exam fee | Documented | $385 initial, $385 retake |
| Training-provider "success rates" | Not an issuer statistic | Cannot be treated as a pass rate |
The honest summary: the exam is documented in detail, the outcomes are not. That means your preparation should be built on the official objectives rather than on anyone's claimed success percentage. If you want a sense of relative difficulty without invented figures, read How Hard Is the SCT Exam? for a qualitative breakdown.
Who Sits the Exam: Eligibility as a Filter
One reason raw pass-rate comparisons across credentials mislead is that the candidate pool differs. The SCT is a senior-level credential with a demanding gate. Current eligibility provides two routes:
- Experience route: eight years of verified corrosion work experience, including four years in responsible charge.
- Degree route: a bachelor's degree in a physical science or engineering, plus four years in responsible charge.
Both routes require ethics training (or an accepted equivalent) and an approved application. All requirements must be completed within four years. Note that current program eligibility controls over the narrower wording in the June 2020 exam preparation guide, so check the current AMPP credential page rather than relying on older PDFs. The fixed reference count and any additional technical-training-hour requirement remain unverified, so confirm those directly with AMPP. Our SCT requirements guide walks through qualification in more detail.
Because candidates must already have years of field responsibility, the people sitting for this exam are not novices. That cuts both ways: practical familiarity helps, but experienced technicians often have uneven exposure. Someone who has spent a decade on pipeline cathodic protection surveys may be thin on metallurgy or chemical treatment, and the exam does not grade on your specialty.
Format Pressure: 140 Questions in a Closed-Book Room
The SCT is delivered as a computer-based test at a Pearson VUE center, in English, in person. The 240-minute appointment includes a four-minute NDA and a six-minute tutorial, so the calculated working time is 230 minutes. That works out to a little over 90 seconds per question if you spend it evenly, though calculation-heavy items will eat more time than definitional ones.
Key format points:
- Closed book. No reference material is supplied, so formulas and tables you rely on at work must be in your head.
- Multiple-choice with select-all-that-apply. Some items are multiple-response, which punishes partial knowledge: knowing two of three correct options is not the same as knowing the topic.
- Built-in calculator. The Examinee User Guide notes a CBT calculator is provided. The specific SCT calculator model, any adaptive format, and remote-delivery authorization are unverified, so do not assume a handheld device or an at-home option.
- No separate practical exam. The four hours is seat time for the written test, not a practical assessment.
Where Candidates Gain and Lose Points
The June 2020 Exam Preparation Guide lists six formal domains with percentage ranges. Treat these as ranges, not fixed allocations; form-to-form variation is expected. The weights tell you where preparation hours earn the most return.
| Domain | Official Range | Preparation Implication |
|---|---|---|
| Cathodic Protection | 24-28% | Largest single block; prioritize first |
| Coatings | 21-25% | Second largest; broad surface-prep and system knowledge |
| Metallurgy | 19-23% | Foundational; often underestimated by field-focused candidates |
| Chemical Treatment | 18-22% | Substantial; commonly weak for pipeline-only experience |
| Internal Corrosion | 5-9% | Small weight but not zero |
| Planning & Safety | 2-5% | Smallest; quick wins if reviewed briefly |
Cathodic Protection (24-28%)
This is where a typical senior technologist should expect to be tested hardest, because the domain combines theory, design, and field interpretation.
- Galvanic versus impressed-current system design and when each applies
- Potential criteria and how measurements are interpreted
- Anode and rectifier considerations and current requirement reasoning
- Interference and stray-current concepts
Coatings (21-25%)
Coatings questions reward breadth: surface preparation, coating selection, application, and inspection all appear.
- Surface preparation standards and profile concepts
- Coating system selection for environment and substrate
- Inspection and failure-mode recognition
- Interaction between coatings and cathodic protection
Metallurgy and Chemical Treatment (19-23% and 18-22%)
Together these cover roughly two-fifths of the exam, and they are the domains where specialization hurts most.
- Corrosion mechanisms by alloy family and environment
- Material selection reasoning and failure analysis concepts
- Inhibitor and treatment chemistry fundamentals
- Water and process chemistry effects on corrosivity
For a full walkthrough of what each area covers, see the SCT exam domains guide. A useful pattern: the two heaviest domains add up to 45-53% of the exam by range, so a candidate who is weak in both has a structural problem that strength in Internal Corrosion or Planning & Safety cannot offset. Those last two domains total a small share of the exam, which makes them efficient to review but dangerous to over-invest in.
Retake Rules and the Cost of a Miss
Since the pass rate is unknown, plan as though a retake is a real possibility rather than a remote one. The general CBT retake policy sets waiting periods:
- First retake: 30 days after the previous attempt.
- Subsequent retakes: four months between attempts.
The published Examination and Re-take Fees document lists the SCT at $385 for an initial attempt and $385 for a retake, with no member/non-member split on the exam fee itself. A note on source reliability: the fee file carries conflicting revision labels (a parsed July 2026 label versus a rendered June 2024 / effective July 2023 label), but both reported versions show $385 for the SCT. No guaranteed live checkout quote is claimed here, so confirm the amount at registration.
| Cost Item | Member | Non-Member |
|---|---|---|
| Certification application fee (July 2022 schedule) | $0 | $150 |
| Exam fee, first attempt | $385 | $385 |
| Calculated application plus first exam | $385 | $535 |
| Retake exam fee | $385 | $385 |
Those calculated totals exclude membership dues, training, books, taxes, and travel. The sharper cost is the delay: a failed first attempt costs $385 and at least 30 days, and a second miss pushes you to a four-month wait. Remember that everything must be completed within the four-year window. Full figures are in the SCT certification cost breakdown, and scheduling mechanics are covered in SCT exam dates.
How to Read Pass-Rate Claims From Training Providers
Training companies sometimes advertise that a high share of their students pass. These claims are not issuer exam statistics. Before giving one weight, ask:
- What is the denominator? Students who finished the course, or everyone who enrolled?
- Who self-reported? Providers typically learn outcomes only from students who tell them.
- What is the time window? A rate from one cohort or exam form says little about another.
- Is the student pool comparable to you? A course aimed at working senior technicians draws a different group than a general introduction.
Key Takeaway
Use provider claims as a signal about course engagement, not as a measurement of exam difficulty. The only authoritative description of what you will face is the AMPP preparation guide and the current credential page. If a source cannot trace its number to AMPP, discard the number and keep the topic list.
Also be careful about the acronym itself. "SCT" is shared by several unrelated credentials, and statistics for those do not transfer to the Senior Corrosion Technologist. Likewise, the Senior Internal Corrosion Technologist is a different credential with its own syllabus, so its materials should not be substituted. If you are still orienting yourself, start with what SCT certification is.
A Domain-Weighted Preparation Schedule
Because the weights are published, the most defensible way to plan is to allocate effort in proportion to them, then adjust for your own gaps. The sketch below assumes a six-week runway; stretch or compress as needed. For a fuller plan, use the SCT study guide.
Cathodic Protection
- Design logic, criteria, and interference reasoning
- Work calculation items using only the on-screen-style calculator you expect to have
Coatings
- Surface preparation, system selection, inspection
- Tie coating behavior back to cathodic protection demand
Metallurgy and Chemical Treatment
- Prioritize whichever you use least in daily work
- Mechanisms, material selection, inhibitor and water chemistry basics
Internal Corrosion and Planning & Safety
- Short, high-yield passes through both small domains
Timed Full-Length Practice
- Simulate 140 questions inside a 230-minute working window
- Practice select-all-that-apply items specifically
The logic: the heaviest domains get the earliest and longest blocks because mistakes there are the most expensive, and the final week is spent on timing and multiple-response discipline. Use the SCT practice tests for timed runs, and keep the SCT cheat sheet handy for last-day review of formulas and facts you must recall without references.
Frequently Asked Questions
No SCT pass rate was disclosed in the AMPP issuer sources retrieved for this article, and numerical passing scores are not published. Any specific percentage should be treated as unverified unless it is traceable to AMPP.
The exam has 140 questions in a 240-minute appointment. After a four-minute NDA and six-minute tutorial, the calculated working time is 230 minutes. The split between scored and unscored questions is unpublished.
You can retake it. The general CBT retake policy requires a 30-day wait before the first retake and four months before subsequent retakes. The published retake fee is $385, so confirm the amount at registration.
Cathodic Protection (24-28%) and Coatings (21-25%) carry the most weight, followed by Metallurgy (19-23%) and Chemical Treatment (18-22%). Internal Corrosion (5-9%) and Planning & Safety (2-5%) are small but still tested. These are ranges, not fixed allocations.
Yes. Certification is valid for three years. The renewal guide specifies 1.5 years of relevant work during the cycle and 12 PDHs per year (36 total) from at least two categories, plus ethics and documentation. See the ROI analysis to weigh the ongoing commitment.